Search:

About eekitsaspider


Real Name:
Christi L
Member Since:
December 12, 2006
Last Signed In:
May 07, 2008
Profile Views:
5711
Blog Views:
15326
View Profile
Send a Message
Send To A Friend
Sign Guestbook
Add as a Friend

Previous Posts
Questionable email???
Rose bushes
Frustration
How long would you wait?
Fire
Dog troubles
Haunting?
Happy New Year
Merry Christmas
Christmas
Archives
December 06
January 07
February 07
March 07
April 07
May 07
June 07
July 07
August 07
September 07
October 07
November 07
December 07
January 08
February 08
March 08
April 08
May 08
Merry Christmas
Subscribe!
RSS 2.0 feed RSS 2.0
Add to My Yahoo
Add to My Google
Add to Bloglines
Add to My AOL
eekitsaspider - > eekitsaspider -> Questionable email???
Questionable email???

I got an email today supposively from the IRS informing me that in order to recieve my stimulus payment I need to respond by May 12,2008. Dummy me clicked on the link that was provided and the page could not load. I began to think that maybe this is some type of scam going arround because I do not recall hearing anything about having to do anything except file a tax return in order to get the stimulus.

Has anyone else gotten this email, or am I just the odd one? Do you feel it is a false email?

Thanks,

Christi

Posted in these Groups:
Topics:
posted by eekitsaspider on Wednesday, May 7, 2008 at 01:05 PM
Report a Violation
Viewed 134 times
10 comments from 8 users

1

posted by SamTheBull on May 7, 2008 at 01:20 PM

I haven't gotten an email like that but I did see an alert somewhere on the net about Stimulous Check Scams.

I found this article http://www.mainstreet.com/d... by Googleing Stimulous Check Scams.

posted by jer72 on May 7, 2008 at 01:38 PM

Per the IRS website, they will never email people about information pertaining to their official tax returns. They will only contact the tax payer by US mail.

No yes I did get one also.

posted by jer72 on May 7, 2008 at 01:40 PM
posted by LuvMyKatz on May 7, 2008 at 03:17 PM

Eek you will never get an email from the IRS asking for personal information if they need to contact you for any reason it would be through US mail. There was a similar one going around last year stating that you had some extra money they owed you. It prompted you through all these questions and asked for personal information the site looked just like the IRS site except the one difference was that you couldn't click on any of the other links which tipped me off to it being a bogus farce. You got to be careful of any phone calls or emails that ask for personal information the best thing is to ask the caller or emailer for the phone number and tell them you will contact them later when you have some spare time. Usually that’s when they back off and you won't hear from them again.

posted by Sharonc on May 7, 2008 at 04:36 PM

In the warning about just such an e-mail that I received, it indicated that it should be reported to the IRS.


posted by jer72 on May 7, 2008 at 05:11 PM

reported mine and even looked up the web address at network solutions and reported that to the IRS. It was to some guy in Texas (or at least that was the information in the Whosis search).

Best rule of thumb is to always enter the know web address and never click on the links provided. Some of these scum make some real looking sites up. In my case I deal with a lot of PayPal money transfer due to my web store and I always enter the PayPal address regardless.

posted by Active4People on May 7, 2008 at 05:30 PM

Eek, why would anyone click on a link in an e-mail to provide any personal information (to anyone/anthing)? The only time one should EVER provide such information is when they specifically go to the web site by typing in the name of an authentic site (that they know) and they are sure that is where they want to go (OR, they have previously bookmarked that site from typing the name previously). In an e-mail, sites can be forged, so to speak. It doesn't matter whether it is the IRS, the DMV, or the President of the United States....... No one who is reputable EVER requests personal information either via an e-mail transmission or by supplying a link to click on. At least that is my experience.

posted by Sparks on May 7, 2008 at 07:14 PM

Eek   I got the same email and I am not even eligible to receive the stimulus payment from the IRS.   I reported them to the IRS as well. 

posted by Smokey on May 8, 2008 at 09:33 AM

I never recieved this email (yet) but I am sure you are far from the only one that has. Emails like that are usually sent out by the masses.

It's so important to be careful what you click on. There are so many programs out there that can grant remote access to another user, and do all kinds of thinks like give someone a text log of everything you type, making it especially easy to get into any or all of your password protected websites, banking info, etc. You really can never be too careful online when it comes to protecting yourself and your information.

Almost all websites that have access to any of your personal information (even paypal or ebay) also have easy ways to report phishing scams. In order for them to be able to use your email to trace it back from the sender you will need to be sure the headers are included in the email. The IRS has details on that here   http://www.irs.gov/privacy/...   and the email address to forward any IRS related emails you may recieve is phishing@irs.gov

 

posted by viciouslindz on May 8, 2008 at 10:59 AM

sounds like a scam to me

1

Leave a Comment
Ground Rules for posting comments:
  • No profanity or personal attacks.
  • Please comment on the subject of the post itself.
If you do not follow these rules we will remove your comment. Please keep it civil.

To protect users from spam, we need you to prove that you're a human being.
Please enter the text from the image at left.