2017 TMRA board members and committee members present for the first meeting night are Dal Bunn, Leanne McCombs, Lisa Newman, Dale Youngblood, Jeff Nausch, Bob Helfriech, Ann Ward, Heidi Tully, Jamie Osbrink, Diana Osbrink and Cindy Isbell.

Nick Smirnoff / For Tehachapi News

The first meeting of the Tehachapi Mountain Rodeo Association of the year took place and the schedule was announced.

There are six Junior Rodeo competitions this year. We invite everyone to these free rodeo events starting in May. Your attendance helps support youth interest in the sport of rodeo and the western traditions and values of honesty, fair play and the western lifestyle itself.

Summer will bring the annual Bad Bulls Rodeo, which will take place on Tuesday, July 4, at the Tehachapi Event Center and Rodeo Grounds. With nearly 7,000 rodeo fans in attendance, it’s best to buy your tickets early as this is always a nearly sold-out event.

Tehachapi is proud to be a participant in the PRCA Rodeo circuit. This two-day rodeo event is scheduled for Aug. 19 and 20 in the Milano Rodeo Arena at the Event Center, adjoining the Tehachapi Airport.

Here is our schedule:

Junior Rodeo #1: Saturday, May 20

Junior Rodeo #2 & 3: Saturday, June 24, and Sunday, June 25

Junior Rodeo #4 & 5: Saturday, July 15, and Sunday, July 16

Junior Rodeo Finals: Saturday, Aug. 26

Junior Rodeo Awards Day: Sunday, Aug. 27

Fourth of July Bad Bulls: Tuesday, July 4

PRCA Rodeo: Saturday, Aug. 19, and Sunday, Aug. 20.

Nick Smirnoff is with the Tehachapi Mountain Rodeo Association.