1042359163-data.jpg

In this photo from 2014, Library Supervisor Jacob Cairns holds up new books for the Lego Club, a very popular activity offered at the Tehachapi Branch Library.

The Tehachapi branch of the Kern County Library has several activities planned this summer.

The library is open from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday and Wednesday, and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday. It is closed Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday. The library is at 1001 W. Tehachapi Blvd. For more information, call 822-4938.

The library shared this list of events:

• Library scavenger hunt: All month all day.

• Family Storytime: 10 a.m. Fridays

• American Sign Language: 4:30 p.m. Mondays for teens; 5:30 p.m. for adults

• Summer Reading Challenge kick-off celebration: The official summer kick-off party where children can sign up for the reading challenge is at 11 a.m. Saturday, June 3. 

• Otaku Club for teens: Fans of Japanese anime can share their passion of this genre, 2 p.m. Saturdays of June 3 and July 1.

• Omnipresent Puppet Theater: Family puppet show, 11 a.m. Monday, June 5.

• Barks & books: Kids can practice their reading skills by reading to one of Marley’s Mutt’s therapy dogs at 11 a.m. Wednesday, June 7 and June 21; 4 p.m. Mondays June 12 and 26; 11 a.m. Wednesday July 5 and 19; and 4 p.m. Mondays, July 10 and 24.

• S.T.E.A.M. Activities Club: Kids can participate in a different activity in relating to the science, technology, arts and math subjects, 2 p.m. Saturdays of June 10 and July 8.

• California Living Museum: Wildlife animal show and tell, 2 p.m. Friday, June 16.

• Sensory Storytime: Storytime for special needs children on the spectrum, 10 a.m. Saturdays of June 17 and July 15.

• Lego Club Mania!: Kids can show off their building skills with our LEGO bricks, 2 p.m. Saturdays of June 17 and July 15.

• Magical Musical Melody Makers: Kids can come make a musical instrument, learn about music and hear professional musicians, 4 p.m. Monday, June 19.

• Stone Soup Theater Storytime: Fun, interactive story telling, 2 p.m. Friday, June 23.

• Cupcake Wars!: Cupcake decorating contest for teens (13 to 18 years) and tweens (7 to 12 years). Space is limited and registration is required. Call the branch to sign up. 2 p.m. Saturday, June 24.

• Steve Martins Working Wildlife: Animal wildlife show and tell, 2 p.m. Friday, June 30. 

• Jim Cogan, interactive storyteller: 10 a.m. Friday, July 7.

• The Magic of Christopher Lopez: Family magic show, 11 a.m. Monday, July 10. 

• S.T.E.A.M. Works: The Puppet Musical: Family puppet show, 2 p.m. Friday, July 14.

• Harry Potter Trivia: 3 p.m. Wednesday, July 26.

• Roaming Reptiles: Reptile show and tell, 2 p.m. Friday, July 28. 

• Summer Reading Challenge Grand Final Party: We will announce the winners of our drawing starting promptly at 12 p.m. Saturday, July 29. Light refreshments will be served.